St. Conleth’s Infant Primary School

Principal: Margaret Harnett
Deputy Principal: Margaret Mahon
St Conleths Infant School,
Naas Road,
Co. Kildare
Phone: 045 431 050
Email: [email protected]

St. Conleth’s Infant School is a Catholic co-educational Primary School, under the patronage of the Bishop of Kildare and Leighlin.
It was built in 1953 and it was under the stewardship of the Holy Family Sisters until 2000.

The school is a centre of excellence where professional standards are maintained and where pupils learn in a safe, happy environment
and staff are sensitive to the needs and circumstances of each pupil, irrespective of race, colour, creed, ability or gender.

The culture of the school is determined by the young age of the pupils where the uniqueness of each child is nurtured and eveloped holistically by the schools child-centred approach to learning.

The policies, practices and attitudes of the school, such as those in our dealings with pupils, staff, parents and the wider community are inspired by the values of the Christian Gospel. Prayer and reflection are regular features of the school day thus nurturing in the children, a living relationship with God. The celebration of the liturgical seasons is part of the rhythm of the school year and the children are given the opportunity to participate in these celebrations.

The school fosters an active partnership with the parents/guardians which contribute to the positive learning experience of the pupils.


The Board of Management

The Board of Management of St. Conleth’s Infant School is made up of the following:

Mr. Pat Lonergan, Chairperson, appointed by the Bishop of Kildare and Leighlin, Mrs. Margaret Harnett, Principal, Mrs. Orla Phelan Staff Nominee Mrs. Adele O’Connor and Mr. Padraic Jennings, Parents Nominees, and Ms. Eva O’Brien and Mrs. Fiona Maher Community Nominees

The Board members assume collective responsibility for all decisions taken in the name of the school.

Both parent representatives are democratically elected by the parents of children currently attending the school.

The Board serves for a four year period and it meets approximately eight times per school year. It’s responsibilities include : building projects, appointment of staff, managing and auditing school accounts, ratifying all school policies etc. If the child of the mother or father’s representativess leaves the school during the term of the Board another election must be held to find a replacement.